Q+A’s Jack Tame has been named Political Journalist of the Year at the 2024 Voyager Media Awards, as TVNZ picked up awards in six categories.

Judges said Tame, whose interviews with political leaders became must-watch viewing before last year’s election, “demonstrated a mastery of the art, science and ruthless precision of great live TV political interviews, keeping viewers on the edge of their seats and politicians sweating”.

Best (shortform) Video of the Year went to the Breakfast team with Jenny-May Clarkson for Cyclone Gabrielle Lifeline, for showing “empathy and kindness” while giving important information in the wake of the disaster.

Best Current Affairs (long) or Documentary went to John Campbell, Andrew Dalton and Dallas Smith for their work on Slash, a look at the impact of forestry debris in Tairawhiti.

The judges were impressed with the scripting, interviews, flow and “exceptional camerawork”.

Best Editorial Campaign or Project went to Fair Go’s Gill Higgins, Kaitlin Aldridge and Nicola Russell for their Limitless campaign, sharing the stories of New Zealanders living with disabilities and the barriers they face.


Read more here. Discuss it on The BFD.

A contribution from The BFD staff.